Sweet Potato, Lentil and Coconut Curry

Last night I made dinner using a recipe for Sweet Potato, Lentil and Coconut Curry on the Deliciously Ella blog by Ella Woodward from London. Here are my photos of the results.

The recipe included tomatoes and black olives as well as sweet potatoes, lentils, and coconut, along with turmeric, cumin, coriander, and ginger spices. I served it over brown rice as suggested, but she also mentions quinoa or mashed potatoes as options.

It says 6 servings but it really made much more, so we’ll be having lots of leftovers; next time, I will scale down the recipe for two people. You can see how much it made in this photo of the 5 quart pot that I used after taking it out of the oven to serve. You also have to be especially careful since turmeric can cause yellow stains on some countertops, and apparently I had a few drips from the spoon that I hadn’t noticed immediately.

 

The recipe only mentioned partial nutrition information for a serving as 34.4 grams, 13.2g protein, and 235 calories. However in brackets it says that does not include sweet potatoes, coconut milk, tomatoes, and coriander leaves, which I estimated might be another 5 grams, and then you have to add the 3/4 cup brown rice underneath which adds another 33 grams for a total of about 71 grams. Since I wasn’t sure how large a serving really was, initially I took too much but after I started eating I realized that I needed to cut it in half to save for another day. Actually my blood glucose was pretty good after the meal (144).

We still have some leftovers from my last two dinners, so I haven’t planned my next meals yet.

Leave a Reply

