One-Pot Mediterranean Quinoa with Spinach + Chickpeas

Last night I made dinner using a recipe for One-Pot Mediterranean Quinoa with Spinach + Chickpeas on the SimplyQuinoa blog by Alyssa Rimmer. Here are my photos of the results.

The recipe also included green olives and sun-dried tomatoes as well quinoa, chickpeas and spinach. It makes 4-6 servings but I didn’t adjust it for two because I thought it would be good to have some for leftovers.

The recipe suggested that it be served it over greens and shredded cabbage. Since I didn’t have them available (and forgot to include them in my shopping list), I just used regular lettuce and red cabbage and that worked out fine.

A recipe serving was 197 grams (or about 1 cup). Although the carbs were a bit high (64g), that was offset somewhat by 15g fiber and 19g protein. So I thought it would still be appropriate for my diabetes, where I generally try to emphasize low-carb meals, but I have now been walking after meals for additional exercise.

My next dinner for Sunday will be Sweet Potato, Lentil and Coconut Curry.

Leave a Reply

