My First Dinner

I have had Type 2 Diabetes for almost 10 years now. Focusing on my health is very important to me so I decided to finally start cooking, and last night was my first dinner!

Actually, I have wanted to get started for quite a while, and have even been gathering recipes in anticipation. I think that I will enjoy it, and it will be another way to try a variety of meals that are especially diabetic-friendly since managing carbs is critical for good glucose control. Also, my wife needs a  break after cooking for me almost 49 years now. She appreciates the time off, and actually liked the first meal I prepared. I think she was probably surprised that I pulled it off, but didn’t mention it.

For this meal, I used some recipes from Diabetic Meals in 30 Minutes – Or Less! by Robyn Webb for the American Diabetes Association (pp. 157-161): Chicken Rigatoni, Oven-Based Parmesan Zucchini, Salad Greens, Balsamic Vinaigrette, and Pinot Noir. I made everything except the wine, and it actually came out pretty well. Here are some photos.

First Dinner

First Dinner

 

Chicken Rigatoni

Chicken Rigatoni

 

Oven-Baked Parmesan Zucchini

Oven-Baked Parmesan Zucchini

 

Balsamic Vinaigrette

Balsamic Vinaigrette

 

Main Dishes

Main Dishes

 

Dinner Italiano

Dinner Italiano

 

Next up for tomorrow night will be Spinach, Artichoke, and Mushroom Toss.

5 thoughts on “My First Dinner

Leave a Reply

